how parents really feel about game night

I grew up on Monopoly. My three big sisters would come over for the weekend and my dad and my mom would get out the vintage game of Monopoly. There would be cardboard pizza, Doritos, Deans dip, and Pepsi. Mind you this was the 80’s. I remember my mom scratching the middle of the board for good luck on landing on free parking. She wanted the jackpot. Those are happy memories and I cherish them always.

But…

Now I’m the mom. And this is how game night goes for me…

“I don’t want to play Life, it takes FOREVER!”

“I don’t want to play Monopoly, Mom always wins.” (I really do, it’s genetics)

“Harry Potter Trivia is too hard.”

“Apples to Apples, Apples to Apples, Apples to Apples!!”

“We always play that!”

“Let’s play something new!”

“No!! Then we have to take the time to learn it!”

“It’s settled, we’re playing Apples to Apples.”

Once a game has been chosen, I have to pour myself a giant glass of wine. I mean GIANT. It’s not that I don’t enjoy playing games with my kids, because I really honestly do. It’s just hard to play games with them. 9 times out of 10 someone will cry. Someone will yell. Someone will be annoying. Someone will be annoyed. Someone will be loud. Someone will argue about the rules. Someone will spill something. Someone will whine.

But you know what… it’s the most beautiful moment. Even though I roll my eyes and groan whenever someone mentions, “Let’s play a board game!” I know that I am making the best memories for my kids. Sometimes I’m just tired. Sometimes I just want to lay in bed and read a book that I want to read. Sometimes I just want to binge watch whatever show I want to watch. Which, I don’t even have a show I binge watch because, well, let’s face it, when do I ever have the remote? Except, I have made it a few episodes into season one of Gilmore Girls and I have to say, I LOVE IT!! But anyway, who has time for that?!

While I want to have some peace and quiet, some mommy time, some tranquil evening with me, myself, and wine; I always end up having fun and I usually leave the table with side cramps from laughing so hard. So all in all, game nights are needed, just maybe not always wanted, but totally worth it.

Yours Truly,

True Life Hot Mess Mom

Leave a Reply

